Dr Charlene Lui becomes next Doctors of BC President-Elect

December 1, 2023

Doctors of BC extends our congratulations to Dr Charlene Lui who was elected as the next president-elect in our recent member election.
Dr Lui has worked as a family physician in both community and facility settings for the last 27 years, providing a diverse array of care including longitudinal full-service family practice, obstetrics, long-term and acute care, as well as working in COVID and childhood vaccine and 811 virtual care clinics. She has been a member of BC Family Doctors’ leadership team since 2019, currently serving as Board Chair.

“I am honoured and excited to serve as your President-Elect. By uniting as a profession – and building a culture of ‘WE’ – together we can build a health care system that meets the needs of our patients and enables us, as physicians of BC, to provide the high-quality care that we have been called to provide. I thank each one of you for your support and your ongoing commitment to the profession and to the people of BC.”

In addition to BC Family Doctors, Dr Lui has held several other medical leadership roles including Chair of the Burnaby Division of Family Practice, Co-Chair of the Collaborative Services Committee, and Co-chair of the Shared Care Steering Committee. She is the current Chair of the Fraser Regional Divisions Collaborative and is Co-Chair of the Fraser Region Interdivisional Strategic Council. She is also a member of Doctors of BC’s Representative Assembly, WorkSafeBC Negotiations Coordinating Group, and the Community Physician Health and Safety Oversight Group.
Dr Lui is dedicated to teaching and mentoring doctors of tomorrow in her roles as President-Elect of the UBC Medical Alumni Association and Clinical Instructor with UBC’s Faculty of Medicine, and through her involvement with the Physician Quality Improvement Faculty.

Outside of her clinic and leadership time, she is a devoted wife and mother, and enjoys travel, music, theatre, yoga, and reading.
Dr Lui steps into her role as president-elect on January 1, 2024, at which time Dr Ahmer Karimuddin, the current president-elect, will step into his role as president.