Changemaker Awards: Medical Residents and Students - Be recognized and win $2,000 for your advocacy work

Each year the Changemaker Award honours one medical resident and one medical student who have demonstrated exemplary leadership and dedication in advancing the policies, views, and goals of Doctors of BC or a Resident or Student organization, through grassroots advocacy efforts. Winners are presented with an engraved plaque and a $2,000 cheque at the Doctors of BC’s Annual Awards Ceremony in 2022.

The deadline for nominations is Friday, October 15, 2021.

Who is a Changemaker? 

A Changemaker is someone who goes out of their way to advocate for a stronger health care system through medical or political advocacy. Their commitment may be demonstrated by advancing health policies, supporting quality patient care, or improving the medical training process. This person might be involved with their local constituency, or be an active member of an association or political party.

One thing is certain: The successful candidates act on their desire to improve BC’s health care system. If this sounds like a medical resident or student you know, nominate them as a Changemaker!

Who is eligible?

Each medical resident or student nominee must:

  1. Be enrolled in full-time studies during the year of nomination.
  2. Be registered as a Doctors of BC member in good standing.
  3. Demonstrate outstanding personal advocacy for political or medical issues in British Columbia.

Consideration may be given to a group of residents or students acting with a single purpose.

See previous recipients of the Changemaker award.

How do I nominate someone for this award?

Submit a completed nomination form along with the following supporting material:

  • A detailed letter of nomination (350 words max) with descriptions of political involvement and/or medical advocacy activities
  • Two letters of support
  • The nominee’s curriculum vitae

Generally, letters of support include:

  • Start with an opening sentence that explains why you believe the candidate deserves this award.

  • Provide clear descriptions/examples that highlight how the nominee has made a difference, and the impact that has had for you or others.

  • Touch on criteria for the award, and how the candidate supports these requirements.

  • Keep letters between 2 and 3 pages in length.

A nomination may be re-submitted in a subsequent year; but must be updated to reflect the current year. Handwritten letters of nomination or support will not be accepted, and self-nominations are ineligible.

Submit all nomination packages via email to